Minutes of the meeting of the **LICENSING COMMITTEE** held at the Council Offices, Whitfield on Tuesday, 30 May 2023 at 5.30 pm.

Present:

Chairman: Councillor S Hill

Councillors: J S Back D G Beaney E A Biggs (as substitute for Councillor P M Brivio) S B Blair J P Loffman K Mills (as substitute for Councillor D G Cronk) M P Porter J L Pout (as substitute for Councillor D J Parks) O C de R Richardson

Officers: Democratic Services Officer

## 1 <u>ELECTION OF A CHAIRMAN</u>

The Democratic Services Officer called for nominations for the Chairman of the Licensing Committee.

It was proposed by Councillor K Mills and duly seconded that Councillor S Hill be elected Chairman for the ensuing municipal year.

It was proposed by Councillor O C de R Richardson and duly seconded that Councillor D G Beaney be elected Chairman for the ensuing municipal year.

On being put to the vote it was

RESOVED: That Councillor S H Hill be elected Chairman of the Committee for the ensuing municipal year.

## 2 <u>APPOINTMENT OF A VICE-CHAIRMAN</u>

The Chairman called for nominations for the Vice-Chairman of the Licensing Committee for the ensuing municipal year. It was moved by Councillor J L Pout, duly seconded and

RESOLVED: That Councillor S B Blair be appointed Vice-Chairman of the Committee for the ensuing municipal year.

#### 3 <u>APOLOGIES</u>

Apologies for absence were received from Councillors P M Brivio, D G Cronk, M W Moorhouse, D P Murphy and D J Parks.

#### 4 <u>APPOINTMENT OF SUBSTITUTE MEMBERS</u>

It was noted that, in accordance with Council Procedure Rule 4, Councillors E A Biggs, K Mills and J L Pout be appointed as substitute members for Councillors P M Brivio, D G Cronk and D J Parks respectively.

# 5 DECLARATIONS OF INTEREST

There were no declarations of interest made by Members.

## 6 <u>MINUTES</u>

The Minutes of the meeting held on 1 March 2023 were approved as a correct record for signing by the Chairman.

## 7 <u>LICENSING ACT 2003 AND GAMBLING ACT 2005 - APPOINTMENT OF</u> <u>LICENSING SUB-COMMITTEES AND CHAIRMEN OF SUB-COMMITTEES</u>

Members considered the report of the Strategic Director (Corporate & Regulatory) which suggested the composition of the five Licensing Sub-Committees, each comprising of three members, to hear applications under the Licensing Act 2003 and Gambling Act 2005. Members were also asked to appoint the Chairmen of those sub-committees and it was

- RESOLVED: That the five Licensing Sub-Committees and their Chairmen for the ensuing Council year be as follows:
  - (A) Councillors J P Loffman (Chairman), H M Williams, D P Murphy
  - (B) Councillors S B Blair (Chairman), D G Cronk, D J Parks
  - (C) Councillors S Hill (Chairman), P M Brivio, M F Hibbert
  - (D) Councillors D G Beaney (Chairman), O C de R Richardson, J S Back
  - (E) Councillors M W Moorhouse (Chairman), M P Porter, S C Manion

The meeting ended at 5.39 pm.